2010 Indy Int'l Film Festival

IIFF winners announced

“A Little Help” was crowned the top winner at the 2010 Indianapolis International Film Festival, winning the award for best narrative feature film.

The comedy/drama from writer/director Michael J. Weithorn stars Jenna Fischer as a woman who has trouble getting her life together.

“A Little Help” also won the first-ever Grand Jury Award — an overall prize awarded by festival officials from the winners in three categories selected by independent panels of jurors. The American Spectrum jury (which included Christopher Lloyd and Joe Shearer of The Film Yap) also selected “God of Love” as best short film.

For documentaries, “Ballhawks” won the best feature prize, while “The Poodle Trainer” took best short.

In World Cinema, “Twisted Roots” won the feature award and “Encuentro” won best short.

For audience awards, selected by festival-goers, “When I Rise” won best feature and “Diplomacy” received the nod for shorts.

Among the special awards, “LaPorte, Indiana” won the Hoosier Lens award for features, while “Dynamic Tom” took the short film award given to movies with an Indiana connection.

“When I Rise” received the Black Expressions Award, and “Born Sweet” took the Eric Parker Social Justice Award.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “IIFF winners announced”

  1. Leeann Pugh says:

    I had not heard about this movie but now want to see it. I didn’t know that Jenna Fischer was from Indiana either. She’s hysterical and great on The Office.

  2. […] IIFF winners announced | THE FILM YAP […]

  3. […] IIFF winners announced | THE FILM YAP […]